top of page


At Deerness Valley Nursery the actual day to day delivery of the seven areas of learning is shaped around your child. Following their individual interests and using their strengths and previous experiences we design and deliver a bespoke educational play environment and using skilled adult interactions we cultivate a life long love of learning. Specific skills are taught in small groups through playful learning activities.


This means that we listen and watch to see what your child likes to do and can already do, and we use this to help them learn new things.


You will see that we make specific choices about what we have at nursery and what we do. We make these choices based on our professional experience and research, and our knowledge of positive healthy development of children.


This means that what you see at Deerness Valley Nursery may be quite different to what you will see at other nurseries.

All children learn at different rates and in different ways, and our goal is always to draw out their potential. We offer spaces for children with Special Educational Needs, and there is more information about this here.


Four Principles

We follow the statutory framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage. We celebrate and value the four “overarching principles” of the framework which are:


Every child is unique

Children learn best through positive relationships

Children learn best in well planned and resourced enabling environments

Children learn and develop in different ways and at different rates.

Seven Areas

Your child’s learning is underpinned by the statutory framework which categorises learning into seven main areas. These are:


Communication and Language

Physical Development

Personal, Social and Emotional Development



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design

bottom of page